A sandpit view from a non expert

November 14, 2007

Day Three: Update Two 

As a non expert it has been interesting seeing the discussions evolve during the past couple of days. I have never considered what my identity actually means in any depth before and doing so is something I would recommend to others. I have not yet got round to joining social networking sites and never considered the implications for my privacy. I would certainly not sign up so lightly now… How the research community actively engages and initiates broad discussions on this issue at all levels will be an on-going challenge for us all.As a representative from one of the funding bodies, it has been interesting seeing the ideas generated in real time rather than simply seeing the final proposals come through the door. There’s still a long way to go and I’m sure they’ll be a few twists and turns on the way…     

Paul

Leave a Reply

